You pay for your CTP insurance at the same time as you pay your vehicle registration.

From 1 July 2019, you choose a CTP insurer when you purchase your CTP insurance.

As each insurer’s policy coverage is identical, you choose from the four CTP Insurers based on their premium price and Claimant Service Rating.

Premium price

CTP Insurers set their own premiums for each premium class within a Regulator-approved price range, based on how they assess the cost of the Scheme. Premiums are only accepted if they fall at or within the premium range.

The CTP Insurers can adjust their premiums as frequently as they wish by notifying the Regulator. This means that if you renew your registration (for a vehicle in the same premium class) at different times of the year, your premium may differ.

Find out more information on how premiums are set.

Claimant Service Rating  

All people who have made a claim for an injury as a result of a motor vehicle accident are asked to participate in a survey. Those surveyed are asked to give a rating from 0 to 100 on the overall experience they had with the insurer handling their claim (0 being a negative experience, 100 being a positive experience).

The results collected from the surveys are used to determine an overall average Claimant Service Rating for each CTP Insurer on a rolling six month basis.

Find out more information about the claimant survey.

Current Claimant Service Ratings